Yoga and Its Different Disciplines  

Posted by Saki S in

As described in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, the ultimate goal of Yoga is to attain Freedom or Kaivalya. This is referred to as the experience of innermost being, or simply the experience of 'Soul' or Purusa. When an individual attains this degree of awareness, he becomes free from Karmic Effect that bounds us for the continuation of reincarnation. Patanjali Sutras describes 8 disciplines of Yoga that are practiced to perceive the true nature of Soul. These 8 disciplines are –

1. Yama – Collective principles: diplomacy, honesty, non-stealing

2. Niyama - Ethics of self performance: cleanness, happiness, study of self, submission

3. Asana - Practice of the positions

4. Pranayama – Breathing management

5. Pratyahara – Sense withdrawal and sense management

6. Dharana – Focus

7. Dhyana - Meditation.

8. Samadhi – Attainment of higher consciousness